Call me chicken

Rick on his great quest in the Chicken Licken commercial, shot by Net#work BBDO in Nepal.

It’s Wednesday, which means that it’s time for Ad of the Week. It is the day that I get to pick that ad I love most, write about it, and then it appears on MarkLives, SA’s top site for marketers, about marketing.

This week I couldn’t choose between two new ads from SA’s stable of fast-food outlets. Both use humour to market the respective (but competing) brands. So please don’t cry foul because I just couldn’t choose an outright winner.

Nando’s and Chicken Licken continue their campaigns to win the hearts and stomachs of South African consumers with ads that have a lot more than a good belly laugh in common. For example, neither commercial focuses too much on chicken. Rather, the two are what are classically called “brand-building ads” — they both look to aspects of SA culture to entrench their brands as ‘iconically’ South African.

For the full story, check out my review of two of SA’s top chicken brands at Marklives.

